RYZE Mushroom Coffee Review: A Label Audit
By Coffee Studies Editorial·Published September 30, 2026·8 min read
Quick answer
Two disclosures before anything else.
We sell a competing product. Coffee Studies is published by Nature Lion, which makes a mushroom coffee called Shyne. That is a real conflict and the only sensible response is to make this review checkable: everything below is either a verifiable fact about what RYZE publishes, or an absence we describe precisely enough that you can confirm it yourself in about five minutes.
This is not a taste review. Plenty of those exist and taste is subjective. This is a label audit, because in a category where the active ingredient is invisible, undisclosed and unregulated by potency, what a brand is willing to tell you is the most informative thing about it.
Caffeine per serving
Price per cup
Form disclosed
What we audited, and how
On 30 September 2026 we read RYZE's product page for its mushroom coffee, its dedicated lion's mane, king trumpet and cordyceps pages, and its story page[1]. We searched all of them for the vocabulary that would let a buyer evaluate a functional mushroom product.
Anyone can repeat this. The terms are the audit.
What RYZE does disclose, and it deserves credit
Starting with the parts that are better than the category norm, because they are.
It names all six species. Cordyceps, lion's mane, reishi, king trumpet, shiitake and turkey tail. Many blends hide behind "mushroom blend"; RYZE does not, and it maintains individual pages for several of them.
It states a caffeine figure. 48 mg per serving. An 8 oz brewed coffee averages around 95 mg[11], so RYZE is roughly half a standard cup. This is the product's clearest and best-supported benefit, and the mechanism is unglamorous but real: part of the serving is mushroom powder rather than coffee. For context on where that sits, the FDA uses 400 mg a day as a reference point for healthy adults[10].
It cites primary research with DOIs. This genuinely surprised us. RYZE's cordyceps page links real peer-reviewed papers, including the 2016 Journal of Dietary Supplements trial on cordyceps and high-intensity exercise tolerance[3] and a 2020 Mycobiology paper on cordyceps and cellular energy production[4]. Those are the same papers we cite in our own reishi and cordyceps guide. Most brands in this category gesture at "studies" without naming any. Linking DOIs is the behaviour we want more of.
Pricing is transparent and unit-priced. $0.90 per serving on a single 30-serving bag, $0.82 on larger kits, with per-serving cost shown at the point of choice. That is more honest presentation than much of direct-to-consumer wellness manages.
What RYZE does not disclose
Here is the audit result. Across the product page and three species pages plus the story page, these terms do not appear:
| What we looked for | Found? |
|---|---|
| fruiting body / fruiting bodies | Not stated |
| mycelium / myceliated / full spectrum | Not stated |
| Milligrams per species | Not stated |
| Total mushroom milligrams per serving | Not stated |
| Beta-glucan percentage | Not stated (the compound is mentioned; no figure) |
| Extract ratio | Not stated |
| Third-party testing or certificate of analysis | Not stated |
| Heavy metal testing | Not stated |
| Country of origin or sourcing | Not stated |
Three of those matter more than the rest.
The form question
Mushroom supplements are sold in two quite different materials. The fruiting body is the mushroom. Mycelium grown on grain is the fungal network grown through sterilised rice or oats and then milled together with that grain, because the two cannot be economically separated, which means a large share of the finished powder is starch. Comparative analyses find materially different compositions between fruiting bodies and cultured mycelia[7], and our full guide to the distinction covers why the labelling rules let both carry the same species name.
RYZE does not say which it uses. Not once, anywhere we looked.
This is not a gotcha. It is the reason none of the other numbers can be interpreted. "Six mushrooms" means something different if the six are fruiting-body extracts than if they are grain-grown biomass, and there is no way to tell from the outside.
The quantity question
RYZE names six species and does not say how much of each you get, or how much mushroom material a serving contains in total.
Six species is presented as a strength, and in disclosure terms it is the opposite: a fixed total split six ways means each species is present in a fraction of that total, and without the total you cannot compute the fraction.
This matters specifically because of what RYZE cites. Its cordyceps page links the Hirsch 2016 trial, which used around 4 g per day of a cordyceps-containing blend[3]. The lion's mane cognition trials people reference used 1.8 to 3 g per day of a single species[5][6]. Citing those studies while withholding your own per-species amount invites a comparison the reader cannot actually make.
To be fair to RYZE, this is a category-wide failure and not a RYZE invention. Nearly every brand does it, ours included on the beta-glucan question below. But RYZE is the largest brand in the category and the one citing the most research, which makes it the one where the gap costs the most.
The beta-glucan question
RYZE mentions beta-glucans as a mechanism. It publishes no figure for them.
Beta-glucans are the fraction most of the immune research concerns[8], and a percentage with a named test method is the only number that lets you compare two mushroom products honestly. Nobody in this category publishes one, RYZE included and Shyne included. We keep saying that because it remains true and because we would rather name our own gap than pretend we have solved it.
The business behind it
Worth knowing, because commercial pressure and formulation choices are connected.
RYZE was founded in March 2020 by Andrée Werner and Rashad Hossain, Harvard classmates, on roughly $2.15M of seed funding. Forbes reported in January 2026 that RYZE reached an estimated $300M in revenue in 2025 and had explored a sale without completing one, citing unnamed industry investors on concerns about customer churn and thin profitability[2]. Other revenue trackers put 2025 considerably lower, around $74M. We give you both because these are all estimates of a private company rather than filings, and a fourfold disagreement between sources is itself worth knowing.
Either way it is the commercial success story of the category, and it got there on direct-to-consumer marketing rather than retail distribution or clinical evidence.
Why mention it in a product review? Because fruiting-body extract is expensive and grain-grown mycelium is dramatically cheaper, the label need not distinguish them, and a brand growing at that rate with churn pressure faces that trade-off continuously. We are not alleging RYZE made that choice. We are explaining why, for this specific product category, the refusal to state the form is the fact that matters most.
What the research actually supports
If you are buying RYZE for the functional claims, the honest evidence picture is not what the marketing implies, and this is true of every brand rather than RYZE alone.
The species in the blend have very unequal evidence. Lion's mane has the most human cognition data and it is still small, short and gram-scale. Cordyceps has one small blend-based exercise trial. Turkey tail's best-quality assessment is a Cochrane review that found the evidence insufficient to draw conclusions[9]. King trumpet and shiitake are included at unstated amounts with very little human outcome data behind their inclusion at all.
What the research says
No published trial has tested RYZE, or any multi-mushroom coffee at sachet doses, on a cognitive or immune outcome. The studies cited across this category used single species at 1.8 to 4 g per day[5][3], for weeks, in small samples.
The one claim about RYZE that is unambiguously supported is the caffeine reduction: 48 mg against roughly 95 mg for a standard brewed cup[11]. That works by simple substitution and requires no assumptions about mushrooms at all.
Who it suits
Reasonable buy if: you want a lower-caffeine morning drink, you like the taste, you are comfortable paying roughly $0.85 a cup for an instant coffee with mushrooms in it, and you treat the functional claims as unproven upside.
Look elsewhere if: you want to know what you are taking. The form is not stated, the amounts are not stated, and no amount of reading fixes that. If you specifically want to test lion's mane on yourself, a single-species standardised extract at a studied dose is the only sensible way to do it, from any brand including ours.
Ask a clinician first if: you take anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs (reishi has documented platelet effects), you take immunosuppressants, or you are pregnant or breastfeeding.
What we would change
Not a criticism so much as a specification. Three lines on the packaging would make RYZE the best-documented product in the category, and it is already close:
- The form. "Fruiting body extract" or "mycelium grown on oats". One phrase.
- Per-species milligrams. Six numbers.
- A beta-glucan percentage with the test method named. One figure.
RYZE already cites peer-reviewed research with DOIs, which means somebody there cares about evidence. That makes the disclosure gap look less like evasion and more like an oversight nobody in the category has been pressured to fix. It is also an open competitive position: the first large brand to publish all three gets to be the one everybody else is measured against.
The verdict
RYZE is a competently made, fairly priced, genuinely lower-caffeine coffee drink from the brand that scaled this category, and it does several things better than its competitors: it names its species, states its caffeine, prices per serving, and cites real papers.
It also withholds the three facts that would let you evaluate the part you are paying a premium for. That is the review. Not that RYZE is bad, but that the biggest and most research-literate brand in mushroom coffee still does not tell you whether you are buying mushrooms or the grain they were grown on, and the category has not yet made it embarrassing enough to change.
Frequently asked questions
- What mushrooms are in RYZE coffee?
- Six: cordyceps, lion's mane, reishi, king trumpet, shiitake and turkey tail. RYZE names all six and maintains dedicated pages for several of them. What it does not publish is how many milligrams of each a serving contains, so the split across those six is not knowable from the packaging or the website.
- Does RYZE mushroom coffee have caffeine?
- Yes, 48 mg per serving. That figure appears on RYZE's own story page, quoted from dietitians commenting on the product. For comparison, an 8 oz cup of brewed coffee averages roughly 95 mg, so RYZE is about half a standard cup. That reduction is real and it is the clearest, best-supported benefit the product offers.
- Is RYZE fruiting body or mycelium?
- RYZE does not say. We searched its product page, its lion's mane, king trumpet and cordyceps pages, and its story page: the terms fruiting body, fruiting bodies, mycelium, myceliated and full spectrum do not appear once. This is the single most decision-relevant fact about any mushroom supplement, because mycelium grown on rice or oats is milled together with that grain and a large share of the finished powder is starch. Without the form stated, the milligram question cannot be answered even in principle.
- Is RYZE mushroom coffee worth it?
- At roughly $0.82 to $0.90 per serving it is priced well above instant coffee and in line with the category. If you want a lower-caffeine coffee you enjoy drinking, it is a reasonable buy and many people like the taste. If you are buying it for the functional claims, you are paying for an undisclosed quantity of an undisclosed form of mushroom, and no honest reviewer can tell you whether that is good value because the information does not exist publicly.
- Does RYZE cite real science?
- Yes, and it deserves credit for that. Its species pages carry DOI-linked citations to genuine peer-reviewed papers, including the 2016 Journal of Dietary Supplements cordyceps exercise trial and a 2020 Mycobiology paper on cordyceps and cellular energy. That is more than most brands in this category attempt. The gap is that citing a trial which used about 4 g per day, without stating how much of that mushroom is in your product, leaves the reader unable to connect the two.
- Does RYZE have side effects?
- No specific side effects are documented for the finished product, and the species in it are edible mushrooms with long food histories. General cautions apply to the category rather than to RYZE specifically: reishi has documented effects on platelet function, which matters on anticoagulants, and several of these species have immune activity worth discussing with a clinician if you take immunosuppressants. Anyone with a mushroom allergy should avoid it.
References
Every factual claim in this article is drawn from the sources below. See the source library for how we grade evidence.
- [1]RYZE Mushroom Coffee product and functional mushroom pages (label disclosure audited 2026-09-30)RYZE Superfoods · 2026 · Reference work · Tier 3 · Contextual
- [2]Mushroom Coffee Maker Ryze Could Be The Next Billion-Dollar Drink, Or A Warning Of A BubbleForbes · 2026 · Reference work · Tier 3 · Contextual
- [3]Cordyceps militaris Improves Tolerance to High-Intensity Exercise After Acute and Chronic SupplementationJournal of Dietary Supplements · 2016 · Controlled trial · Tier 2 · Moderate
- [4]Beneficial Effect of Cordyceps militaris on Exercise Performance via Promoting Cellular Energy ProductionMycobiology · 2020 · Observational study · Tier 3 · Contextual
- [5]Improving effects of the mushroom Yamabushitake (Hericium erinaceus) on mild cognitive impairment: a double-blind placebo-controlled clinical trialPhytotherapy Research · 2009 · Controlled trial · Tier 2 · Moderate
- [6]The Acute and Chronic Effects of Lion's Mane Mushroom Supplementation on Cognitive Function, Stress and Mood in Young Adults: A Double-Blind, Parallel Groups, Pilot StudyNutrients · 2023 · Controlled trial · Tier 2 · Moderate
- [7]Comparative Study of Contents of Several Bioactive Components in Fruiting Bodies and Mycelia of Culinary-Medicinal MushroomsInternational Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms · 2012 · Observational study · Tier 2 · Moderate
- [8]Edible Mushrooms and Beta-Glucans: Impact on Human HealthNutrients · 2021 · Review · Tier 2 · Moderate
- [9]Coriolus (Trametes) versicolor mushroom to reduce adverse effects from chemotherapy or radiotherapy in people with colorectal cancerCochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2022 · Systematic review · Tier 1 · Strong
- [10]Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much?U.S. Food and Drug Administration · 2024 · Agency guidance · Tier 1 · Strong
- [11]FoodData CentralU.S. Department of Agriculture · Official dataset · Tier 1 · Strong
Related reading
- Mushroom CoffeeWhat Is Mushroom Coffee? A Deep, Cited Guide→
- Mushroom CoffeeFruiting Body vs Mycelium on Grain→
- Mushroom CoffeeMushroom Coffee Brands in Canada: Compared→
- Mushroom CoffeeLion's Mane Coffee: The Evidence and the Dose→
- Mushroom CoffeeReishi and Cordyceps Coffee: The Evidence→
- Mushroom CoffeeLion's Mane Side Effects and Safety→